Review: The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate by Jacqueline Kelly

So I read this book called The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate. I liked it enough. It wasn’t exactly fandom-worthy but a worthwhile read. It is about Calpurnia Virginia Tate, or Callie Vee, and her life in 1899. Back then, women and girls only existed to cook and clean and be proper dignified ladies. Callie began exploring science with her “crazy” grandfather, because back then science was not taught to children in schools. She’s deemed “improper” or “crazy” as well. But the more she learns, the more she needs to know. Callie Vee knows that she will have to grow up and become a housewife just like her mother, but she can still be a scientist. . . right?

I really loved the anti stereotype and anti sexism message in this book. I think we need to have more books with this message. The characters were believable enough, I suppose. Calpurnia was a great girl hero in the story. To be honest, this book’s plot had some repetition, but the writing was intriguing so it didn’t cross my mind as much. It was a level Y. (I try to include book GRLs when I can.)

The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate was part of my (Julia’s) Library Haul! Books are so amazing! Go book nerdiness! 

Click here to leave a comment

